top of page


The Al Thomas Club recently held its Annual Awards and Hall of Fame Banquet at the Neighborhood Club in Quincy. Over 100 people attended the event, which included awards for the 2003 season and the induction of three players into the team's Hall of Fame. Mike Hannon, Andy McDonnell and Steve Ryan were the honored inductees, and each was welcomed into the Hall by Master of Ceremonies Joe O'Hara, who also serves as team manager, equipment manager, General Manager, Player personnel director, scouting manager, overseas scouting director, recruiting manager, team scribe, event planner, database manager, Public Relations director, labor negotiator, team spokesman, payroll clerk, quality control manager, tour guide and babysitter. Mike Niland won the highly contested Rookie of the Year race, closely followed by runners up Pat McGann and Peter Moores. John "Peak" Russell took home the Unsung Hero Award. Retired pitcher Mike Feehily captured the Riley Rocket Nostalgic Award, while Julio Sanchez was honored with the Triple Threat Award. Outfielder Steve Sherman earned the "Baseball is Timing" award, and grizzly veteran Larry Fennelly won the Miscellaneous award for the way he buckles down and gets the job done. Three fans were presented Fan of the Year awards: Mike & Lee Aylward, Jen Loonie and Gerry Anglin. We are always grateful for the undying devotion and support of our fans and friends.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Longtime player, coach and manager of the Al Thomas Club, Joe O'Hara, will officially come out of retirement to manage the A's in 2019. O'Hara, in his 36th year with the team, has spent the last five

bottom of page