top of page


On Saturday, September 20, 2008, 16 members of the Al Thomas Club traded in their bats for golf clubs at Riverbend Country Club in West Bridgewater. Veterans Brian Powers, Chris Malloy and George Grant planned the first annual Chief Joe Golf Open as an end-of-the-year gathering for the team. While a number of the players were off at school, four foursomes took to the links on a beautiful 70-degree day.

The winning foursome of John Foley, Aidan Powers, Liam Powers and Joe O'Hara defeated the squad of Brian Powers, Chris Malloy, Mark Daly and Chris Burke in a cardoff. The victors were awarded the Elf Moon Trophy in a subtle ceremony in the parking lot of the golf course.

Chuck Killens won the Most Shots Award, which had nothing to do with golf, and Matt Hallisey won the Cinnamon-Tabasco Award. The tournament directors wish to thank the event sponsors - Riverbend CC, Cagney's, Franks' Place and 'Swa's.

0 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Longtime player, coach and manager of the Al Thomas Club, Joe O'Hara, will officially come out of retirement to manage the A's in 2019. O'Hara, in his 36th year with the team, has spent the last five

bottom of page